If you have a personal Google+ account or you manage a Google+ page, check it out. Your Google plus is soon to be minused!
Google+ will be shut down for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations. Whatever photos and content you have on it, if you want to keep it, please download them before the site goes away and you lose them forever.
According to Google: “On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.”
Users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.
You may have noticed that already, you can’t create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events.
See the full FAQ for more details and updates leading up to the shutdown.
Take note that in three weeks (March 2019), additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community. Learn more. If you’re a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community.
The following instructions come from Google directly.
If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons. Learn more
If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019. Learn more
If you’re a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administrator for more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon. Learn more
If you’re a developer using Google+ APIs or Google+ Sign-in, click here to see how this will impact you.
If you have been using Google+ until now, what site will you be using from now on. Leave your answer in the comment box below.